General News

West Akyem Zone Of GNAT To Mark Maiden Teachers Day On Friday

The West Akyem Zone of the Ghana National Association of Teachers (GNAT) has announced to mark maiden 2019 Ghana Teacher Prize on Friday,4th October 2019 at Osenase.

According to the Zonal Chairman of GNAT, Mr. Yaw Tengey, Teachers in Upper West Akyem District and West Akyem Municipal are expected to participate in the celebration.

He said the maiden celebration will feature Sporting activities and solidarity messages from Chiefs, Chief Executive for West Akyem, Education Director and other Teacher Unions.

Mr. Yaw Tengey said those selected and nominated for Regional and National Awards will go for their Awards and the rest will also move to Osenase for the celebration.

The National award is slated for October 5, 2019, at the Paa Joe Stadium in Kumasi will see the overall winner receiving a three-bedroom apartment.

The first runner up gets a 4X4 pick-up truck, the second runner up a saloon car and the overall winner a three-bedroom apartment.

Other categories including the best Primary School Teacher, Best Junior High School Teacher, best special school and the HIV/AIDS most alert school will also be honoured.

The Ghana Teacher Prize seeks to reward outstanding teachers who have displayed exemplary leadership qualities and transformed the lives of the pupils or students under their care.  

Ten industrious teachers have progressed to the final stage of the 2019 Ghana Teacher Prize and they are Philippa Darko of the Experimental M/A Kindergarten, Kumasi; Charrald Bibi Kolevi of the Awanano Model D/A School, Shama; Christiana Koperebarah Yeyeh of the Yumba Special School for the Intellectually Disabled and Clement Assou of the Ofori Panin Senior High School (SHS).

Others include Ishmael Iddris of the Asanteman D/A JHS at Bia in the Western Region; Mark Cofie of the Kanton SHS, Tumu, Munkaila Alhassan of the Ghana Muslim Mission SHS, Sekyere Central, Ms Sabina Koba Dosu of St Dominic R/C Basic School, Akwatia, Serlom Kwabena Gyimah of Brewianiase M/A Primary, Nkwanta-South and Theodosia Larkai Oppong of the Aburi Girls' SHS.

The ten finalists were selected from an initial 50 shortlisted teachers following a competitive selection process across 16 regions.

Source: Kofi Atakora/

Share It now

Leave a comment