216 E-Waste Collection Centres to Be Established Nation-Wide

The Minister for Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation Prof. Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng has announced govenment’s plan to establish e-waste collection centres in each of the 216 districts of the country under the National Integrated E-waste management programme.

He said the programme, which was launched by H.E. Nana Akufo-Addo in 2018 will “lead to the creation of over 20,000 direct jobs through the establishment of a National e-waste recycling facility and associated holding centres in each regional capital.”

Speaking at the official opening ceremony of a E-Waste Stakeholder Consultation Forum on the theme “Envisioning the Future of E-Waste Management in Ghana“ earlier this morning, Prof. Frimpong-Boateng said the Integrated E-waste Management Programme will “ensure the management of E-waste in an environmental sound manner and turn the challenges of e-waste management in Ghana into green business opportunities.”


Share It now

Leave a comment